Janakpur Royals Thrash Pokhara Avengers To Start Campaign With A Win

Spread the love

Janakpur Royals thrashed Pokhara Avengers by five wickets to start their campaign in the ongoing Nepal T20 League with a convincing one. Pokhara Avengers, on the other hand, suffered their second defeat in as many games after losing against the Royals.

Pokhara Avengers innings:

Janakpur Royals skipper Trevon Griffith won the toss and elected to bowl first. And his decision turned out to be right as the Royals bowler bowled out the Avengers for just 138. For the Royals, Kesrick Williams starred with the ball.

The right-arm fast-bowler picked up 3 wickets for just 19 runs while Pawan Sarraf, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Lalit Rajbanshi picked up 2 wickets each.

The Avengers were off to a poor start as Sompal Kami dismissed Upul Tharanga for just 2 in the very first over. Aasif Sheikh and Ameer Hamza then steadied the ship with a 57-run stand before Sharafuddin Ashraf dismissed the latter for 18 to break the stand.

From thereon, Avengers kept losing wickets at regular intervals and found themselves reeling at 99 for 6 and then 111 for 9. A 28-run knock from Pratis GC then helped the Avengers cross the 130-run mark. For Avengers, opener Sheikh top-scored with 50 off 39 balls while Siddhant Lohani (29) and Pratis also played handy knocks.

new balance

Janakpur Royals innings:

See also  RICHARD GIBSON: Already The Heartbeat Of The Crew, Ben Stokes Is Made For The Final Job

Chasing 139, the Royals were off to a poor start as their skipper Griffith was out for just 9 off 7 balls. But before Avengers could capitalize on the early breakthrough, Sagar Pun and Chadwick Walton put the chase in control by taking the score to 68.

Mousom Dhakal broke the stand when he had Walton dismissed for 19. It was followed by a 25-run stand between Sagar and Sundeep Jora. The Royals eventually chased down the total in the 18th over. For the Royals, Jora top-scored with 40 while Sagar scored 38.

Nepal T20 League Points Table:

Teams Matches Won Lost Tied Points
Lumbini All Stars 2 2 4
Kathmandu Knights 1 1 2
Janakpur Royals 1 1 2
Biratnagar Super Kings 1 1
Pokhara Avengers 2 2
Far West United 1 1


Source link

Spread the love